4 mogelijke houdingen tegenover controversiële onderwerpen in de klas

Via een zoals steeds interessante post van Larry Cuban ontdekte ik deze 4 mogelijke reacties van leerkrachten over controversiële onderwerpen. Ze werden beschreven door Diana Hess:

DENIAL

It is not a controversial political issue: “Some people may say it is controversial, but I think they are wrong. There is a right answer to this question. So I will teach as if it were not controversial to ensure that students develop that answer.”

PRIVILEGE

Teach toward a particular perspective on the controversial political issue: “It is controversial, but I think there is a clearly right answer and will try to get my students to adopt that position.”

AVOIDANCE

Avoid the controversial political issue: “The issue is controversial, but my personal views are so strong that I do not think I can teach it fairly, or I do not want to do so.”

BALANCE

Teach the matter as genuine controversial political issue: “The issue is controversial and I will aim toward balance and try to ensure that various positions get a best case, fair hearing.”

Geef een reactie

